Toronto Blues Society | » 21st Annual Maple Blues Awards

21st Annual Maple Blues Awards

Nominees and Winners Event Details Nominating Panel PHOTO GALLERY

Nominees and Winners

Congratulations to everyone who won at this year’s Maple Blues Awards! Winner names are highlighted in *BOLD in the nominee list below.

Entertainer of the Year

Dawn Tyler Watson
*Paul DesLauriers Band
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer
Steve Hill
Angel Forrest

Electric Act of the Year

*Colin James
Steve Hill
Boogie Patrol
Paul DesLauriers Band
Dawn Tyler Watson

Acoustic Act of the Year

Harrison Kennedy
Michael Jerome Browne
*Big Dave McLean
Rob Lutes
Tim Williams

Male Vocalist of the Year

Harrison Kennedy
Duane Blackburn
*Matt Andersen
Donald Ray Johnson
Jon Knight (Soulstack)

Female Vocalist of the Year

Dawn Tyler Watson
*Angel Forrest
Shakura S’Aida
Samantha Martin
Cécile Doo-Kingué

New Artist of the Year

Bad Luck Woman & Her Misfortunes
Earle & Coffin
*Jason Buie
Justin Saladino Band
Lucas Haneman Express

Recording/Producer of the Year

*Blue Highways (True North)
ARTIST: Colin James
PRODUCERS: Colin James & Dave Meszaros

Who U Tellin’ (Electro-Fi)
ARTIST: Harrison Kennedy
PRODUCERS: Harrison Kennedy & Alec Fraser

Monarch (Self)
ARTIST: Chris Antonik
PRODUCERS: Chris Antonik & Ted Onyszczak

Apocalipstick (Self)
ARTIST: The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer
PRODUCERS: Matthew Rogers, Shawn Hall & John Raham

High Temperature (Solid Blues)
PRODUCERS: Colin Linden

International Artist of the Year

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats
Gregg Allman
Mavis Staples
Eric Bibb
*Joe Bonamassa

Guitarist of the Year

Cécile Doo-Kingué
*Colin James
Michael Jerome Browne
Paul DesLauriers
Steve Hill

Harmonica Player of the Year

*Guy Bélanger
Harpdog Brown
Jerome Godboo
Shawn Hall
Steve Marriner

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

*David Vest
Duane Blackburn
Julian Fauth
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
Michael Kaeshammer

Horn Player of the Year

Chris Whiteley
Frankie Thiffault
*Jon Wong
Mat “Moose” Mousseau
Shirley Jackson

Drummer of the Year

Lindsay Beaver
*Matt Sobb
Nicky Estor
Sam Harrisson
Tom Bona

Bassist of the Year

Alec Fraser
Gary Kendall
Greg Morency
John Dymond
*Laura Greenberg

Songwriter of the Year

Cécile Doo-Kingué
Chris Antonik
Diteodoro, Marriner, Sobb
*Harrison Kennedy
Rob Lutes

Blues With A Feeling (Lifetime Achievement)

Alec Fraser
Brent Parkin
Danny Brooks
*Diana Braithwaite
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Michael Jerome Browne
Tom Lavin

Event Details

The Maple Blues Awards took place on Monday, January 15th, 2018, at Koerner Hall in Toronto
Click here to see photos from the magical evening.


The Nominating Panel consists of industry professionals from across Canada who volunteer their time to participate.

Vince Almond CFBX Kamloops BC
Brant Zwicker* At the Crossroads (syndicated) Kamloops BC
Grant Payne Nanaimo Blues Society Nanaimo BC
Rod Dranfield White Rock Blues Society Surrey BC
Brent Morrison Rockin’ Blues (CJSF | CJMP) Vancouver BC
Paul Norton CFRO | CiTR Vancouver BC
Ron Simmonds CFRO Vancouver BC
Cindy McLeod Calgary Blues Music Association | The Blues Witness (CJSW) Calgary AB
Cam Hayden The Friday Night Blues Party (CKUA) Edmonton AB
Chris Martin Saturday Night Blues (CBC) Edmonton AB
Peter North Dead Ends & Detours (CKUA) Edmonton AB
Grant Stovel CJSR | CKUA Edmonton AB
Jeff Corbett Redbeard’s Blues (CJTR) Regina SK
Gord MacAulay Canadian Blues Alliance Saskatoon SK
Al Wood Saskatoon Blues Society Saskatoon SK
Ronnie Lindsay Bluesday on Tuesday (CKUW) Winnipeg MB
Paul Panchezak Breakfast of Champions (CFMU) Hamilton ON
Ken Wallis Blues Blast (The HAWK) Hamilton ON
Claude Cloutier Kitchener Blues Festival Kitchener ON
Bruce Hall Grand River Blues Society Kitchener ON
Larry Kurtz Orangeville Blues & Jazz Festival Orangeville ON
Liz Sykes Ottawa Blues Society Ottawa ON
Deborah Cartmer CFBU St. Catharines ON
John Booth CILU Radio Thunder Bay ON
Bob Halvorsen Thunder Bay Blues Society Thunder Bay ON
Julie Hill Blue Remedy (Radio Regent | Blues and Roots Radio) Toronto ON
Eric Thom Freelance Music Journalist Toronto ON
John Valenteyn* John’s Blues Picks (Maple Blues) | John Valenteyn’s Blues (CIUT) Toronto ON
Yannick Lambert Donnacona Blues Festival Donnacona QC
Debra Thornington Ottawa Blues Society | Dawg’On Blues (DAWG) Gatineau QC
Alexandre Petit Viree Blues Boreale Hull QC
John Detcheverry Cha Cha In Blue (CKUT) Montreal QC
Daisy Hanna Montreal Blues Society Montreal QC
Phil Brisse Montreal Blues Society Montreal QC
Randy Renaud The Black Cat Alley (CHOM) Montreal QC
Greg  Torrington The Blues (Stingray Music) Montreal QC
Michel Dubois Rue D’Auteuil (CKRL) Quebec QC
Louis Brunet CKMN Rimouski QC
Jean Sicotte Les Productions Kazou Sutton QC
Bob Mersereau CBC Radio One Fredericton NB
Roger Jean Rosie’s Juke Joint (CHSR) Fredericton NB
Conrad Mead 95.7 The Wolf Fredericton NB
Yanick Theriault Cigare & Whiskey (CFBO) Grand Moncton NB
Sandy MacDonald Freelance Music Journalist Halifax NS
Gene Bellows Blues in the Night (VOBB) Bonne Bay NL
Terry Parsons* Blind Lemon Radio (CHMR) St. John’s NL

*The panel is led by a steering committee consisting of John Valenteyn, Brant Zwicker, Yanick Theriault and Terry Parsons.




Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2024 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.