Toronto Blues Society | » 17th Annual Maple Blues Awards

17th Annual Maple Blues Awards

Winners and Nominees

(winners’ names are *bolded)

Entertainer of the Year

The 24th Street Wailers
Shakura S’Aida
Steve Strongman
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer

Electric Act of the Year

The 24th Street Wailers
Bill Durst
David Gogo

Acoustic Act of the Year

Brandon Isaak
*Dawn Tyler Watson and Paul Deslauriers
Harrison Kennedy
Little Miss Higgins
Michael Jerome Browne

Male Vocalist of the Year

Bob Walsh
Charlie A’Court
Donald Ray Johnson
Harrison Kennedy
*Jim Byrnes

Female Vocalist of the Year

*Angel Forrest
Dawn Tyler Watson
Layla Zoe
Shakura S’aida
Treasa Levasseur

New Artist or Group of the Year

Brant Parker Blues Band
Declan O’Donovan
Denis Viel
James “Buddy” Rogers
*The Mackenzie Blues Band

B.B. King International Artist of the Year

James Cotton
Dr. John
Mavis Staples
*Tedeschi Trucks Band
Trampled Under Foot

Recording of the Year

*All Frequencies – MonkeyJunk (Stony Plain)
East Meets Vest – David Vest (Ark-O-Matic) (co-produced by Gary Kendall)
Everybody Ought To Treat A Stranger Right – Julian Fauth (Electro-Fi)
Mother Tongue Blues – Angel Forrest (Morningstar)
One of A Kind – Ben Racine Band (Iguane)

Blues With A Feeling Lifetime Achievement Award

Alec Fraser
Michael Jerome Browne
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Stephen Barry
Tom Lavin
Brent Parkin
*Bob Walsh
Jim Zeller
Nanette Workman
Theresa Malenfant
John Dickie

Songwriter of the Year

Brandon Isaak
Charlie A’Court
Harrison Kennedy
Julian Fauth
*MonkeyJunk – Steve Marriner, Matt Sobb and Tony Diteodoro

Guitarist of the Year

David Gogo
Kevin Breit
*Paul Deslauriers
Steve Strongman
Tony D

Harmonica Player of the Year

Carlos Del Junco
David Rotundo
Guy Belanger
Shawn Hall
*Steve Marriner

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

David Vest
Graham Guest
Julian Fauth
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
*Lance Anderson

Horn Player of the Year

Al Lerman
*Chris Whiteley
Frank Thiffault
Jon Wong
Shirley Jackson

Drummer of the Year

Bucky Berger
Chris Nordquist
Dave King
Sam Harrisson
*Tom Bona

Bassist of the Year

Alec Fraser
*Gary Kendall
Keith Picot
Omar Tunnoch
Russell Jackson

Blues Booster Award

*Tim Hortons Southside Shuffle

Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2024 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.