Toronto Blues Society | » TBS Talent Search 2019

TBS Talent Search 2019



Each year, the Toronto Blues Society searches its undiscovered blues talent from across the region. Six finalists are selected to perform for a professional development package including festival gigs, mentorship meetings, studio time, graphic design and much more!

This year competition fever will take place on Saturday, June 29 between 4pm-8pm at the Hazelton Stage on Hazelton Avenue in Yorkville as part of the TD Toronto Jazz Festival.

Applications Now Open!

Eligibility: The TBS Talent Search is open to emerging Canadian blues artists who have not appeared in the finals of the talent search in the past, who do not have national distribution and would be considered an “undiscovered” or “rising” artist by their peers. Applicants must reside in the province of Ontario and within 500 KM of Toronto.

Submission: Musicians need to fill out the form below. Please note that you can’t edit the form once you submit your application.

Submission Fee: In order to complete the application process Non-TBS-Members need to pay the application fee ($10). Application is free for TBS Charter Members (or equivalents). Submission fee can be paid by clicking the PayPal button below, or over the phone by Credit Card (TBS Office: 416 538 38 85), or by sending a cheque to Toronto Blues Society (910 Queen St. W. Suite B04, Toronto-ON M6J 1G6).

Want to become a TBS Member? Click here.

Click Here To Pay The Submission Fee:


1995 – Maureen Brown and Big Hand
1996 – Robin Banks
1997 – Rockin’ Highliners
1998 – Jake & the Blue Midnights
1999 – Ronnie Douglas Blues Band
2000 – Scotty Doubt Band
2001 – Big Mark & the Blues Express
2002 – David Rotundo and the Blue Canadians
2003 – Dylan Wickens Band
2004 – Bharath & the Catfish
2005 – Wickens/Knight
2006 – The Undesirables
2007 – Douglas Watson R&B Revue
2009 – catl.
2010 – The 24th Street Wailers
2011 – Bradleyboy Mac Arthur
2012 – Irene Torres & The Sugar Devils
2013 – Sugar Brown
2014 – The Conor Gains Band
2015 – Michael Schatte
2016Spencer MacKenzie
2017Dan McKinnon
2018 – Bywater Blues




As part of the:


Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2019 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.