Toronto Blues Society | » TBS Talent Search 2018

TBS Talent Search 2018



Each year, the Toronto Blues Society searches for its undiscovered blues talent. Six finalists are selected to perform for a professional development package including festival gigs, mentorship meetings, studio time, graphic design and much more!

This year the competition fever will take place on Sunday, July 1 between 12:30pm-4:30pm at the OLG Stage on Cumberland Avenue in Village of Yorkville as part of the TD Toronto Jazz Festival.

Eligibility: The TBS Talent Search is open to emerging Canadian blues artists who have not appeared in the finals of the talent search in the past, who do not have national distribution and would be considered an “undiscovered” or “rising” artist by their peers. Applicants must reside in the province of Ontario and within 500 KM of Toronto.




1995 – Maureen Brown and Big Hand
1996 – Robin Banks
1997 – Rockin’ Highliners
1998 – Jake & the Blue Midnights
1999 – Ronnie Douglas Blues Band
2000 – Scotty Doubt Band
2001 – Big Mark & the Blues Express
2002 – David Rotundo and the Blue Canadians
2003 – Dylan Wickens Band
2004 – Bharath & the Catfish
2005 – Wickens/Knight
2006 – The Undesirables
2007 – Douglas Watson R&B Revue
2009 – catl.
2010 – The 24th Street Wailers
2011 – Bradleyboy Mac Arthur
2012 – Irene Torres & The Sugar Devils
2013 – Sugar Brown
2014 – The Conor Gains Band
2015 – Michael Schatte
2016Spencer MacKenzie
2017Dan McKinnon



As part of the:


To submit your application to the 2018 Toronto Blues Society Talent Search, complete the form below and click “Submit” until Tuesday, May 15, 10am. Each artist/band is may only submit ONE application.

Submitting to the TBS Talent Search is FREE for current TBS Charter/Student/Family/Benefactor Members. A $10 submission fee is required for all Non-Member applications. Payment can be processed by cheque (payable to “Toronto Blues Society”), over the phone via credit card (please call the TBS Office at 416-538-3885 to pay via phone) or online via PayPal (no account required).

To pay the $10 submission fee for Non-Members online, click “BUY NOW” to pay via PayPal:


PLEASE NOTE: Your application will not be considered if you have not paid the $10 submission fee OR you are not a valid TBS Charter/Student/Family/Benefactor Member. To become a member now please click here.


Thank you to all musicians/bands who submitted for this year’s Talent Search. The six finalists will be announced on Monday, May 28th. The TBS wishes all contestants good luck!

Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2018 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.