Toronto Blues Society | » Winners & Nominees

Winners & Nominees

Winners Announced!

Click on the names to start listening!


Entertainer of the Year

Dawn Tyler Watson
Downchild Blues Band – WINNER!
Miss Emily
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Sue Foley

Electric Act of the Year

Colin James – WINNER!
Jack de Keyzer
Paul DesLauriers Band
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Sue Foley

Acoustic Act of the Year

Big Dave McLean 
Harry Manx
Manx Marriner Mainline
Matt Andersen – WINNER!
Michael Jerome Browne

Male Vocalist of the Year

Harpdog Brown
Harrison Kennedy
Matt Andersen – WINNER!
Steve Marriner
Steve Strongman

Female Vocalist of the Year

Angel Forrest
Dawn Tyler Watson
Miss Emily – WINNER!
Samantha Martin
Shakura S’Aida

New Artist of the Year

Bywater Call
Durham County Poets
Matchedash Parish
Miss Emily – WINNER!
Robert Connely Farr

Recording/Producer of the Year

Colin Linden & Luther Dickinson – Amour (Stony Plain); Producer: Colin Linden
Dawn Tyler Watson – Mad Love (Self); Producers: Francois Thiffault & Dawn Tyler Watson – WINNER!
Harpdog BrownFor Love & Money (Dog House); Producer: Steve Dawson
Matchedash ParishSaturday Night (Make It Real); Producer: Lance Anderson
Matt AndersenHalfway Home By Morning (True North); Producer: Steve Dawson

B.B. King International Artist of the Year

Buddy Guy – WINNER!
Chirstone “Kingfish” Ingram
Ghost Town Blues Band
Larkin Poe
Mavis Staples

Songwriter of the Year

Big Dave McLean
Colin Linden
Dawn Tyler Watson – WINNER!
Robert Connely Farr
Sue Foley

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Alec Fraser
Brent Parkin
Danny Brooks
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Michael Jerome Browne – WINNER!
Tom Lavin

Guitarist of the Year

Anthony Gomes
Garrett Mason
Jack de Keyzer
Paul DesLauriers – WINNER!
Sue Foley 

Harmonica Player of the Year

Al Lerman
Harpdog Brown – WINNER! (TIE!)
Jim Zeller
Roly Platt 
Steve Marriner – WINNER! (TIE!)

Piano/Keyboard of the Year

David Vest
Duane Blackburn
Jenie Thai
Jesse O’ Brien
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne – WINNER!

Horn Player of the Year

Chris Whiteley – WINNER! (TIE!)
Kaven Jalbert (Ben Racine Band)
Loretta Hale (Andre Bisson Band)
Mat “Moose” Mousseau (Ben Racine Band) – WINNER! (TIE!)
Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)

Drummer of the Year

Chris Nordquist (Steve Kozak, Cannery Row)
Gary Craig (Colin Linden, Steve Dawson)
Lindsay Beaver 
Sam Harrisson (Paul DesLauriers Band)
Tom Bona (Sue Foley) – WINNER!

Bassist of the Year

Alec Fraser
Alec McElcheran (Paul DesLauriers Band) – WINNER!
Gary Kendall
Keith Picot
Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2020 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.