Toronto Blues Society | » Nominees



Click on the names to start listening!


Entertainer of the Year

Colin James
Dawn Tyler Watson
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Sue Foley

Electric Act of the Year

Colin James
Paul DesLauriers Band
Sue Foley

Acoustic Act of the Year

Big Dave McLean
Earle & Coffin
Michael Jerome Browne
Rob Lutes
Tim Williams

Male Vocalist of the Year

Colin James
Harrison Kennedy
Jon Knight (Soulstack)
Matt Andersen
Rob Lutes

Female Vocalist of the Year

Angel Forrest
Crystal Shawanda
Dawn Tyler Watson
Samantha Martin
Sue Foley

New Artist of the Year

Cootes Paradise
Dan Doiron
Deb Rhymer
Elliott & The Audio Kings
Emily Burgess

Recording/Producer of the Year

Colin JamesMiles to Go (True North); Producers: Colin James & Dave Meszaros
Jack de KeyzerCheckmate (Blue Star); Producer: Jack de Keyzer
Samantha Martin & Delta SugarRun to Me (Gypsy Soul); Producer: Darcy Yates
Sue FoleyThe Ice Queen (Stony Plain); Producer: Mike Flanigan
Sugar BrownIt’s A Blues World (Self); Producer: Sugar Brown

B.B. King International Artist of the Year

Buddy Guy
Ghost Town Blues Band
Mavis Staples
Rick Estrin & The Nightcats
Shemekia Copeland

Songwriter of the Year

Colin James
David Vest
Ken Kawashima (Sugar Brown)
Samantha Martin / Curtis Chaffey
Sue Foley

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Alec Fraser
Brent Parkin
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Michael Jerome Browne
Tom Lavin

Guitarist of the Year

Colin James
Jack de Keyzer
Jack Semple
Steve Hill
Sue Foley

Harmonica Player of the Year

Carlos del Junco
Guy Bélanger
Harpdog Brown
Roly Platt (Matt Minglewood)
Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)

Piano/Keyboard of the Year

David Vest
Jenie Thai
Jesse O’ Brien
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
Michael Kaeshammer

Horn Player of the Year

Chris Whiteley
Jon Wong
Mat “Moose” Mousseau (Ben Racine Band)
Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)
Shirley Jackson

Drummer of the Year

Gary Craig (Colin Linden, Steve Dawson)
Lindsay Beaver
Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)
Sam Harrisson (Paul DesLauriers Band)
Tom Bona

Bassist of the Year

Gary Kendall (Downchild & Mighty Duck Blues Band)
Keith Picot (Brandon Isaak)
Laura Greenberg (JW-Jones)
Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
Russell Jackson (Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne)
Donate Join TBS Volunteer

©2018 Toronto Blues Society. Design by Janine Stoll Media.
TBS logo and WBR artwork by Barbara Klunder

The Toronto Blues Society acknowledges the annual support of the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council and the Department of Canadian Heritage, and project support from FACTOR< and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Broadcasters, The Canada Council for the Arts, the SOCAN Foundation, SOCAN, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.