2015 Maple Blues Awards Nominees

About Winners Nominees Tickets Maple Blues Band Performers Press Archive FAQ Wiki

Congratulations to everyone who won at this year’s Maple Blues Awards! Winner names are highlighted in *BOLD in the nominee list below.

Entertainer of the Year
The 24th Street Wailers
David Gogo
Harrison Kennedy
*Steve Hill

Electric Act of the Year
The 24th Street Wailers
Anthony Gomes
David Gogo
*Steve Hill

Acoustic Act of the Year
*Big Dave McLean
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Harrison Kennedy
Michael Jerome Browne
Ross Neilsen

Male Vocalist of the Year
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays
Jon Knight (Soulstack)
Kirby Sewell
*Matt Andersen

Female Vocalist of the Year
*Angel Forrest
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Cheryl Lescom
Samantha Martin
Shakura S’Aida

New Artist or Group of the Year
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Jenie Thai
*Kirby Sewell Band
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Sugar Brown

B.B. King International Artist of the Year
*Buddy Guy
Elvin Bishop
Eric Bibb
Mavis Staples
Sugaray Rayford

Recording/Producer of the Year
Big Dave McLean Faded But Not Gone (Black Hen); Producer: Steve Dawson
*Colin Linden Rich In Love (Stony Plain); Producers: Colin Linden, John Dymond & Gary Craig
Harrison Kennedy This is From Here (Electro-Fi); Producers: Harrison Kennedy & Jesse O’Brien
John Campbelljohn Chin Up (Nood); Producer: John Campbelljohn
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar Send the Nightingale (Rench); Producer: Rench

Songwriter of the Year
Big Dave McLean
*Colin Linden
Harrison Kennedy
John Campbelljohn
Samantha Martin

Blues With A Feeling (Lifetime Achievement)
Diana Braithwaite
Alec Fraser
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Stephen Barry
Tom Lavin
Michael Jerome Browne
Brent Parkin
*Theresa Malenfant

Guitarist of the Year
Brandon Isaak
David Gogo
John Campbelljohn
Michael Jerome Browne
*Steve Hill

Harmonica Player of the Year
Guy Bélanger
*Harpdog Brown
Jerome Godboo
Roly Platt
Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)

Piano or Keyboard Player of the Year
*David Vest
Duane Blackburn (Blackburn)
Jesse O’Brien (Harrison Kennedy)
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
Mark Wessenger (Soulstack)

Horn Player of the Year
Al Lerman (Fathead)
Chris Whiteley
Frank Thiffault (Ben Racine Band)
*Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)

Drummer of the Year
Chris Nordquist (Cannery Row)
Dave King (Steve Strongman)
Lindsay Beaver (The 24th Street Wailers)
Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)
*Tom Bona (Soulstack, Raoul & the Big Time)

Bassist of the Year
Alan Duffy (Jack de Keyzer)
Alec Fraser (Rick Fines)
Keith Picot (Twisters)
*Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
Owen Owen Owen (Dalannah & Owen)